Skip to content

Two Nova Scotians make Canada's Olympic women's hockey roster

Halifax's Jillian Saulnier and Stellarton's Blayre Turnbull will be heading to Pyeongchang
(stock photo)

CALGARY — The Canadian women’s hockey team released three players and unveiled its roster for February’s Winter Olympics on Friday.

Head coach Laura Schuler named three goaltenders, six defencemen and 14 forwards to the team that will attempt to defend gold in Pyeongchang, South Korea.

Canada has won four consecutive gold medals in women’s hockey.

Defenders Halli Krzyzaniak of Neepawa, Man., and Micah Zandee-Hart of Saanichton, B.C., and forward Sarah Potomak of Aldergrove, B.C., were the last cuts from the team.

Twenty-eight players were invited in May to try out for the 2018 Olympic team. The players began training full time in August in preparation for the Winter Games.

Veteran forwards Marie-Philip Poulin of Beauceville, Que., Meghan Agosta of Ruthven, Ont., Brianne Jenner of Oakville, Ont., and defender Meaghan Mikkelson of St. Albert, Alta., are expected to lead the women in their bid for another gold.


Shannon Szabados, Edmonton, Genevieve Lacasse, Kingston, Ont. Calgary (CWHL); Ann-Renee Desbiens, La Malbaie, Que.,University of Wisconsin (WCHA).


Jocelyne Larocque, Ste. Anne, Man., Markham (CWHL); Brigette Lacquette, Mallard, Man., Calgary (CWHL); Lauriane Rougeau, Beaconsfield, Que., Montreal (CWHL); Laura Fortino, Hamilton, Markham (CWHL); Meaghan Mikkelson, St. Albert, Alta., Calgary (CWHL); Renata Fast, Burlington, Ont. Toronto (CWHL).


Meghan Agosta, Ruthven, Ont. Hockey Canada; Rebecca Johnston, Sudbury, Ont., Calgary (CWHL); Laura Stacey, Kleinburg, Ont., Markham (CWHL); Jennifer Wakefield, Pickering, Ont., Linkoeping HC (SWE); Jillian Saulnier, Halifax, Calgary (CWHL); Melodie Daoust, Valleyfield, Que., Montreal (CWHL); Bailey Bram, St. Anne, Man., Calgary (CWHL); Brianne Jenner, Oakville, Ont., Calgary (CWHL); Sarah Nurse, Hamilton, University of Wisconsin (WCHA); Haley Irwin, Thunder Bay, Ont., Calgary (CWHL); Natalie Spooner, Toronto, Toronto (CWHL); Emily Clark, Saskatoon, University of Wisconsin (WCHA); Marie-Philip Poulin, Beauceville, Que., Montreal (CWHL); Blayre Turnbull, Stellarton, N.S., Calgary (CWHL).

Head coach: Laura Schuler, Toronto, Dartmouth (ECAC); Assistant coaches: Dwayne Gylywoychuk, Winnipeg; Troy Ryan, Spryfield, N.S.

Rogers Sports & Media
6080 Young Street Halifax, NS, B3K 5L2
© 2006-2022 Rogers Sports & Media. All rights reserved.
push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks