Caroline Ouellette, Henrik Lundqvist among Hockey Hall of Fame’s class of 2023

By Joshua Clipperton, The Canadian Press

Caroline Ouellette and Henrik Lundqvist headline the Hockey Hall of Fame’s class of 2023.

Ouellette, who won four Olympic gold medals with Canada’s women’s team, will enter after being passed over last year.

Lundqvist, a former star goaltender for the New York Rangers, got the nod in his first year of eligibility.

Also set to be inducted in the player category are two other former NHL netminders in Tom Barrasso and Mike Vernon, while Pierre Turgeon also goes in as part of a seven-member class.

Former NHL head coach Ken Hitchcock and former agent/general manager Pierre Lacroix, who died in 2020, will go in as builders at the induction ceremony on Nov. 13 in Toronto.

Ouellette is one of just three women’s hockey players — along with Hall of Famers and former Canadian teammates Hayley Wickenheiser and Jayna Hefford — to win four or more Olympic gold medals.

The Montreal product helped Canada top the podium at the Games in 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014. Ouellette also won six world championships with the national team.

Lundqvist won the Vezina Trophy as the NHL’s top goalie in 2012, and ranks sixth in league history in wins (459), ninth in games played (887) and 17th in shutouts (64). The Swede’s 459 victories are the most by a European netminder.

He backstopped the Rangers to the 2014 Stanley Cup final, and led New York to the Eastern Conference final in both 2012 and 2015.

Lundqvist also won Olympic gold with Sweden in 2006.

Eligible since 2006, Barrasso won both the Calder Trophy as NHL rookie of the year and the Vezina in 1984. A two-time Cup winner with the Pittsburgh Penguins, he won 369 career games — third all-time among American-born goaltenders.

Turgeon, who retired in 2007, put up 515 goals and 812 assists for 1,327 points over his 19 NHL seasons.

Vernon won the Cup with the Calgary Flames in 1989 and the Detroit Red Wings in 1997, capturing the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP along with that second title.

Hitchcock ranks fourth on the NHL’s all-time coaching wins list with 849, winning the Cup with the Dallas Stars in 1999.

Lacroix started his career as a player agent before taking over as GM of the Quebec Nordiques.

He moved with the franchise to Colorado and won the Stanley Cup with the Avalanche in 1996 and 2001.

Players passed over for the hall in 2023 include Rod Brind’Amour, Jennifer Botterill, Curtis Joseph, Alexander Mogilny, Jeremy Roenick, Keith Tkachuk and Henrik Zetterberg.

Top Stories

Top Stories

Most Watched Today